Texas takes a tough stance against driving while intoxicated with separate penalties for adults, adults driving with children, and drivers who are underage. Texas DWI attorney Amanda Webb knows how to sort through those laws and aggressively defend you and your rights.
There's too much at stake to go it alone. A conviction can mean incarceration, fines or an expensive mandatory ignition locks along with thousands of dollars in surcharges to keep your license. Also, while the standard measurement of intoxication is a .08 Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) level, if you measure a level of more than .15, you face even more severe penalties.
Convictions also carry required community service of 160 hours to 600 hours and some type of alcohol rehabilitation treatment.
What are the DWI penalties in Texas?
First-time offender – for a BAC of .08 you will face:
- Up to three months in jail
- $2,000 fine
- A license suspension of 90 days to one year
- License reinstatement fee of $3,000
- For a BAC level of .15 or greater, you will face the same penalties as a second offense
- Up to a $4,000 fine
- Up to one year in jail
- A possible driver's license suspension ranging between 180 days and two years
Third-time offender – this is a felony:
- A state penitentiary sentence of 2 to 10 years
- Fine of up to $10,000
- Loss of driver's license for up to two years
- May be forced to use and pay for ignition interlock device
It will cost you more to drive
If you are convicted of DWI your auto insurance company may cancel your coverage, and, if they don't, they will likely charge you a lot more for insurance for several years. Also, starting with the day you are convicted of DWI in Texas, you must pay a huge surcharge for three years if you want to get back your license to drive when you are eligible.
The surcharge costs are:
- First-time offender: $1,000 annually for three years
- Second-time offender: $1,500.00 annually for three years
- DWI conviction in which your blood-alcohol content was 0.15 or greater: $2,000.00 annually for three years.
Attorney Webb is an aggressive DWI defense lawyer who is an expert on Texas DWI laws and has a long history of getting successful results for clients. She knows how to attack DWI charges and get you back on the road. Contact her today.