DWI & Criminal Defense Attorney,
Available 24/7

Understanding the Impact of a DWI on Car Insurance in Texas

Whiskey with car keys and handcuffs concept for drinking and driving.

A DWI conviction can have serious penalties, many of which come after the terms and conditions of the sentence have been completed. Paying more for car insurance is among the more expensive and long-term consequences of a Texas DWI conviction.

How much does insurance go up after a DWI in Texas?

Typically, a driver with a driving while intoxicated conviction on their record will pay almost 50 percent more for car insurance than a driver with a clean record.

The average cost of car insurance in Texas is $2,631, according to Bankrate. With a DWI, the average cost is $3,901.

There is no hard-and-fast rule, but generally, a DWI can affect your insurance rates for 3-5 years or longer.

Can you still get car insurance after a DWI in Texas?

Getting car insurance in Texas after a DWI can be tough, but it's something you've got to deal with if you want to drive again. When insurance companies set rates, they look at how risky a driver is to insure. With a DWI on your record, you'll probably be seen as a "high risk," which means you'll likely pay more for your insurance — assuming companies are willing to cover you at all.

However, since Texas requires all drivers to have a certain amount of insurance to drive legally, finding a company that will insure you after a DWI is a must if you're planning to drive again.

Once a driver with a DWI has purchased insurance, Texas mandates they obtain an SR-22 certificate. Issued by the state, an SR-22 is required for drivers with DWI records. The certificate indicates that the driver has met the minimum requirements for purchasing car insurance. SR-22s must be filed with the Department of Public Safety for two years from the date of DWI conviction. Allowing the certificate to be canceled or lapse means a driver's license will be suspended.

How to avoid insurance rates going up

The best way to ensure your rates don't go up is to fight a DWI charge aggressively and thoroughly. Mounting a strong defense against a DWI charge can be a challenge. But if you take decisive legal action right away, you can put yourself in the best position to protect your freedom. At Amanda Webb - DWI Lawyer, we know what it takes to build a strong DWI defense. That’s why we have a 90 percent success rate. The keys to establishing a solid DWI defense often involve several important factors, including:

  • Strong, supporting evidence.
  • Timely, decisive action.
  • Aggressive legal representation.

How a DWI defense attorney can help if you've been charged

The potential for increasing insurance rates or loss of insurance coverage is just one of many reasons to take DWI charges seriously and consult an experienced DWI defense attorney. If you have been charged with DWI in Conroe, TX, or another Montgomery County community, contact us to see how we can help you. Attorney Amanda Webb is a former Assistant District Attorney in Montgomery County, and she knows the Texas court system inside and out. Our firm's DWI case results include:

  • DWI - dismissed.
  • DWI - reduced to reckless driving.
  • Felony DWI - reduced to misdemeanor.

Our Texas DWI defense legal team is available to hear from you anytime - 24/7. Contact us today.