In most cases, DWIs are charged as misdemeanors in Texas. A first offense, for example, could result in up to 180 days in jail, driver's license suspension for up to a year, and a fine of up to $2,000, if convicted. The penalties for subsequent DWI charges can increase in severity.
In some cases, however, a DWI can be more severe and result in a felony charge. Factors in felony DWI charges usually include:
- You're charged with a third DWI: If you were charged with a DWI for the third time in Texas, you could be convicted of a third-degree felony. Penalties include imprisonment of 2-10 years and a fine of up to $10,000.
- If someone was hurt in a car accident: Intoxication assault occurs when another person is seriously injured in a DWI-related car accident. This constitutes a third-degree felony.
- If someone was killed in a car accident: Intoxication manslaughter occurs when another person is killed in a DWI-related car accident. This constitutes a second-degree felony, which carries imprisonment of 2-20 years and a fine of up to $10,000.
- You're charged with DWI while you have a child under age 15 in your vehicle: This constitutes a state jail felony, which carries 180 days to two years in state jail and a fine of up to $10,000.
Flaws in felony DWI charges
Any type of DWI charge can have serious legal consequences but if you have been arrested and charged with a felony DWI, it's critical that you consult with an experienced Texas DWI lawyer as soon as possible. With a felony charge on your record, you may lose your right to serve on a jury, own a gun and hold public office. In addition, finding a job may be difficult.
The bottom line in felony DWI charges (and all DWI charges for that matter) is: the prosecutor doesn't care whether or not you are actually innocent. If there is enough evidence available to convict you, fighting the charges may be difficult.
Not all DWI charges are as clear cut as you think, however. When devising a legal defense, your attorney will look for evidence of:
- Inaccurate breath tests or defective breathalyzer devices
- Inaccurate field sobriety test results
- Lack of probable cause
- Inaccurate BAC reading
- If the arresting officer failed to read your Miranda rights
In the event you are stopped by police or suspected of a crime, it's important to remain silent and let an attorney at Amanda Webb - DWI Lawyer do the talking. With such a serious charge, too much is at stake. Contact us online to find out how we can help you.