DWI & Criminal Defense Attorney,
Available 24/7

Getting your driver's license reinstated after a DWI arrest

Texas DWI attorney

The consequences of a DWI charge in Texas can be harsh. If it's your first time being arrested for DWI, you face the risk of spending 3-180 days in jail and paying a fine of up to $2,000. More immediately, you will likely have your driver's license suspended for up to one year. This can have an impact on your life, including your ability to get to work and earn a living.

You shouldn't have to give up your job and livelihood because of a DWI arrest, however. Attorney Amanda Webb can discuss your options if you were arrested, and can help you get your license reinstated.

Requirements you must meet before your driver's license can be reinstated

In order to be eligible for a driver's license reinstatement, you must first do the following:

  • Show proof that you have completed an alcohol education program. This may include a 12-hour DWI Intervention Program or a 32-hour DWI Repeat Offender Program. You must then provide certification of completion.
  • Pay for your driver's license reinstatement fee. Reinstatement fees can be paid online at the Texas Department of Public Safety Driver License Division's website.
  • Purchase SR-22 car insurance (also called Financial Responsibility Insurance). You must purchase and maintain this type of insurance for at least two years from an authorized insurance company.

Once you have completed these requirements, you must apply for a driver's license reinstatement or a new driver's license. You can obtain the appropriate paperwork at the Texas Department of Public Safety's website.

Restoring your driving privileges while your DWI case is pending

You don't need to wait an entire year to get your driving privileges back. While you should never drive with a suspended license, you can obtain a restricted or occupational driver's license while your DWI case is pending. This will allow you to drive to get to work, school, medical appointments and to address family needs. You would not be able to drive under any other circumstance, however. This type of license is only valid for 12 hours within a 24-hour period, but that time frame can be specifically tailored to your needs.

Why hire a DWI lawyer?

If you were arrested and charged with a DWI, you may not be fully aware of your rights and legal options. It's best to discuss your matter with an experienced Texas DWI lawyer who understands the law and how the justice system works. The attorneys at Amanda Webb - DWI Lawyer will not only help you restore your driving privileges, but we will also devise a strong legal defense to help you avoid a DWI conviction.

To set up your free DWI case evaluation, contact us online or call our Conroe, Texas law office.